‘Hellboy’ illustration

I drew this last Saturday when I had some time on my hands – felt like drawing a movie character in black pen with interesting features, and that’s when Guillermo del Toro’s Hellboy came to mind.

 

Here’s the process, beginning with the initial pencil sketch:

hellboy4

 Followed by the linework, done in black pen:

hellboy3

 Then I started the shading work, using a different thickness of pen – here’s a close-up:

hellboy2

 And finally, here’s the finished sketch:

hellboy

 Pretty happy with the end result, tough character to draw – took me about 40 minutes in total. Think I’d do it in colour next time to get the red skin colour standing out!

Leave a Reply

